2024 Diversity Visa Program Qualified Country List

If your native country is not on the list, but your spouse was born in an eligible country, you may claim your spouse's native country of birth rather than your own. For example, if you were born in an excluded country such as Mexico, you may still apply if your spouse was born in a qualifying country listed below.

Also, if you were born in an ineligible country but neither of your parents was born or resided there at the time of your birth, you may claim the native country of one of your parents. For example, if one of your parents was born in Australia and the other was born in France, but you were born in Canada while your parents were visiting Canada but had not established residency in Canada, you could claim Australia or France as your Native qualifying country.

Please get your application submitted for the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program as soon as possible. Apply online for the next Green Card Program today to get the best chance of being selected so you can live and work permanently in the United States of America.

In the interactive map below, people born in countries with less than 50,000 immigrants moving to the United States over the previous five years are automatically eligible (Green Countries).

Suppose your country is ineligible to participate in the Diversity Visa Program (Red Countries). In that case, it is because the United States has received more than 50,000 immigrants over the previous five years from your country. In that case, please check back next year as the qualifying country list is updated from year to year.

The following countries can participate in the 2024 Diversity Visa Program (DV-2026). The list is updated every September, so please check for updates on whether your country of birth is among the qualifying countries.

Australia & Oceania

Australia (Including components and dependent areas overseas), Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand (Including components and dependent areas overseas), Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.


Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel*, Japan, Jordan*, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Macau S.A.R.**, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, North Korea, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria*, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.

*Persons born in the areas administered prior to June 1967 by Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt are chargeable, respectively, to Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt. Persons born in the Gaza Strip are chargeable to Egypt; persons born in the West Bank are chargeable to Jordan; persons born in the Golan Heights are chargeable to Syria.

** Macau S.A.R. (Europe region, chargeable to Portugal) and Taiwan (Asia region) do qualify and are listed. For the purposes of the diversity program only, persons born in Macau S.A.R. derive eligibility from Portugal. ***Persons born in the Habomai Islands, Shikotan, Kunashiri, and Etorofu are chargeable to Japan. Persons born in Southern Sakhalin are chargeable to Russia.

Natives of the following Asia Region countries are not eligible for this year’s Diversity Visa program: Bangladesh, China (including Hong Kong), India, Pakistan, South Korea, Philippines, and Vietnam.


Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo-Brazzaville, Congo-Kinshasa, Cote D'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Tee, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome And Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

African countries not qualified for this diversity program:



Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark (including components and dependent areas overseas), Estonia, Finland, France (including components and dependent areas overseas), Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands (including components and dependent areas overseas), Northern Ireland, Norway (including components and dependent areas overseas), Poland, Portugal (including components and dependent areas overseas), Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom (including dependent areas), Uzbekistan, Vatican City

Great Britain (United Kingdom) and its dependent areas do qualify for the Diversity Visa Program in 2023 (DV-2025)

Includes the following dependent areas: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, St. Helena, and Turks and Caicos Islands.

North America


In North America, Canada does not qualify for this year's Diversity program.

South America, Central America, and the Caribbean

Antigua And Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Grenada, Guyana, Nicaragua, Panam, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Uruguay

Countries that do not qualify for this year's diversity Visa Green Card program:

Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, and Venezuela.